Don’t Beg to Be Loved

Love shouldn’t hurt.

Kimz
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Love. It’s a word that carries so much weight, so many expectations, and a myriad of dreams. I’ve spent countless nights wondering, waiting, and wishing for that special someone to return the affection I freely gave. I thought if I just tried a little harder, gave a little more, or sacrificed my own needs, then maybe, just maybe, they would finally love me back.

But here’s the truth: begging for love is like trying to hold water in your hands. The harder you grip, the faster it slips away. I learned this the hard way, through heartaches and tears, through moments of self-doubt and the painful realization that love, genuine love, cannot be coerced or demanded.

I remember a particular relationship where I bent over backward to please them. I changed parts of myself, stifled my own voice, and constantly sought validation from someone who never seemed to see me for who I truly was. I was to desperate to be loved that I lost sight of what love actually is.

Love isn’t about begging or pleading. It’s not about proving your worth to someone who doesn’t appreciate it. True love is effortless. It flows naturally, like a river winding its way through the valleys, nourishing everything in its path. It’s a mutual exchange of respect, care, and understanding.

--

--