Don’t Let Anxious Attachment F&%k Up Your Relationships

Simple and effective ways to re-program our triggers.

Navigating my 30's
Hello, Love

--

Min An From Pexels

Over the past three days I haven’t been able to sleep. One of my friends ran into my ex (yes, the one I wrote so much about) and told me all about his new ‘young and gorgeous’ girlfriend and their massive travel and family-meeting plans for Christmas break. And that house he talked about buying while we were together to raise our kids in, yup, he bought that too, right around the corner from where I live.

He’s a romantic, he said, that’s why at age 48 he had never been in a relationship for longer than 11 months. He was looking for the right person. As he was covering me with love and attention I thought: he must have been waiting for me.

I finally thought I understood the reason behind all the pain I had experienced in the past, it was all leading me to him: one of the world’s most avoidant men. How fabulous.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to go backwards, I have zero desire to be with him or someone like that again, but my friend telling me this triggered my Anxious Attachment Style and I suddenly began experiencing the same pain and constant discomfort I felt when I was with him.

Triggered

--

--

Navigating my 30's
Hello, Love

Trying to figure out how to best navigate life in your 30’s with the help of a touch of irony and a splash of psychology.