Falling in Love Requires a Different Skill Set Than Staying in Love

How to cultivate both skills for healthier, happier relationships.

Crystal Jackson
Hello, Love
Published in
5 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Estonian Saunas on Unsplash

I was never good at falling in love. It required trust that I didn’t have and a belief that everything would work out. Falling in love needed wide-eyed wonder when all I had was skepticism. I was far too guarded to let myself fall, so instead, I took calculated risks. I waded in a little at a time while always tracking the shoreline.

But staying in love once I got there? I was good at that. I might not be naturally trusting, but I’m loyal. I had all the relationship skill sets for staying in love. I was willing to stick through the hard times — perhaps a little too willing, if I’m honest.

There are different skills needed for falling in love versus staying there. I’m sure there are people out there who excel at both, but I’ve known people who are good at only one of them. I’m one of them.

There was that one time that I was good at falling in love. Where I believed. Where I traded in my skepticism for stars in my eyes and a song in my heart. Where I took a leap because the person I loved felt like home. For once in my life, I was good at falling in love and staying in it, but I sometimes think I chose a partner who was only good at the falling…

--

--