Familiarity Kept Me in a Failing Marriage

The unceremonious attachment that is our everyday.

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Caleb Oquendo: On Pexels

I ran into a guy I know. He mentioned something about his last child graduating. It was laced with innuendo. He immediately corrected himself.

“I’m sorry,” he said. “I shouldn’t have framed it that way.”

“It’s okay,” I said. “I get it.”

I recognized his struggle.

It’s not uncommon.

A lot of people, especially men, wait until their children graduate high school to leave a marriage. I could sense he was pondering this decision. He reigned himself in before he overtly said it.

I’d run into him years earlier.

I knew things weren’t right.

He no longer wore his signature smile. It seemed forced. He was absent of his typical exterior, and interior energy. He didn’t confide his relationship issues but he didn’t have to.

It’s why I understood his current innuendo.

Some people remain in unhappy marriages for the children. Some people remain in unhappy marriages out of fear of the unknown. Some people remain in unhappy marriages for security. Some people remain in unhappy marriages out of a sense of obligation.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Hello, Love

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com