Fighting Fair: How to Do It Without Damaging Your Relationship

Now I’m damn sure if I didn’t learn the skill, I would’ve been still stuck in toxic relationships.

Anggun Bawi
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Jonathan Borba on Pexels

There are two types of couples when dealing with fights: one who sits down and talks it through even if it’s painful, and another one is who ignores it, puts everything under the rug, and pretends everything’s fine.

I used to be the second one, and so did my partner. We didn’t talk about it as if nothing has happened before. The next day will be just another day. That one habit eventually broke us up. We couldn’t pretend anymore, and the issue had grown bigger than we could anticipate.

But in my defence back then, I didn’t know how to have a fair fight. And so was my partner. We came from a family whose background refuses to believe a healthy communication skill is what makes the relationship long last. And we weren’t alone on this. Many relationships fail when they don’t know how to be respectful during the fight.

It took me going for multiple therapy sessions to understand the concept of having a fair fight. While it’s not easy to apply it, if you keep working on it (instead of refusing to discuss the problem), you and your partner will eventually have a clear idea of handling and solving any issue…

--

--

Anggun Bawi
Hello, Love

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦