Why Forcing Married Couples Into Traditional Roles Can Make Them Hate Each Other

Baking won’t make you the perfect wife.

Denisa Cerna
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Kari Shea on Unsplash

“I’m ready for marriage, my boyfriend is so lucky,“ she wrote on her Instagram while disclosing a photo of a cake she’s baked.

They aren’t engaged. They’re nowhere close to marriage. The reasons she wrote that are 1) she wanted the world to see how good a baker she is, which is fair enough and 2) she comes from a country that still puts a huge value on a woman’s ability to be a great housewife if she wants to find a husband.

The Czech Republic is one of the most sexist countries in Europe, so none of this surprises me. I grew up there. I grew up being told that if I want someone to marry me, I need to know how to cook, bake, do laundry, iron clothes, mop the floors, clean the windows, the list goes on. All of this while also graduating from a university, preferably with a doctorate, and working a job that makes me really rich.

I need to be an accomplished independent woman and a loyal cleaning lady/full-time mother/housewife at the same time.

No pressure, though.

Jokes always hide a pinch of truth

--

--

Denisa Cerna
Hello, Love

Freelance writer & bookworm writing on self-development, psychology, relationships, and more.