From Gratitude Walks to Masculinity Convictions

How walking and talking with my wife added a new perspective.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

By Vernon Lindsay, Ph.D.

One of the new habits I have started with my wife is taking daily gratitude walks after the children leave for school. We live about a mile from the Pacific Ocean, in a part of Mexico where every season offers opportunities to feel the warm embrace of the sun.

Our morning exercise time not only serves as a healthy activity we can do together, but it also provides an opportunity for us to share about the life we are blessed to live.

We often have conversations about our business responsibilities, the kids, our marriage, and whatever else comes to mind.

On Monday, I decided to bring up the topics of Bill Cosby, sexual assault, the #metoo movement, and masculinity. After last week’s post about the Cosby incident, I received an influx of messages and comments.

Much of the feedback I received was in agreement with my perspectives on Cosby and his abuse of power and wealth. Others asked me to also consider the implications that his race played in the case. I shared with my wife that while no one disagreed with my assessment of Cosby’s actions, some questioned why I did not discuss how other celebrities — including…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com