Grieving the Death of Your Ex When You’re in a Committed Relationship

It’s always hard when someone you love dies, but it becomes complicated when you’re in a committed relationship with another person.

Allie Linn
Hello, Love

--

Photo Credit Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

My ex-boyfriend died in a freak accident on a solo hunting trip in Alaska a few months ago. He was 33 years old. We’d known each other since we were 13, we dated when we were 20, and after that, we became really good friends. Oh yeah, and we were briefly lovers when we were 26. We weren’t in love, but we did love each other.

It’s always hard when someone you love dies, but it becomes complicated when you’re in a committed relationship with another person. I wasn’t prepared for the devastation and longing I felt when I found out he was dead. The last time I saw him was two years ago when he stayed with my husband and me while he was passing through on his way to move to Alaska full-time. It meant a lot to me that he got to see where I live and spend time with my husband and dog. It made me feel closer to him.

What Were We?

I never know whether to refer to him as my ex because the time that we dated was so short. The summer we were together brought us closer and turned us into lifelong friends. He and I had talked about this…

--

--

Allie Linn
Hello, Love

mental health copywriter helping therapists market themselves through writing. Follow her at www.allielinnwrites.com