How An Epic 2-Day Fling Empowered Me

The smallest interactions can have the largest effects.

Camille Prairie
Hello, Love

--

Lake Nahuel Huapi, San Carlos de Bariloche. Taken by Author

It’s September, 2019 in snowy San Carlos de Bariloche, Bariloche, Argentina and I slowly creak the door to the room I share in my hostel open, wary of the fact it is 3 am. “Goodnight,” a voice whispers from the dark behind me. “Goodnight, “ I say, smiling, as I quietly slip into my bottom bunk.

I arrived in San Carlos de Bariloche the day before and immediately hit it off with my roommates from Jackson Hole, Wyoming over a bottle of wine someone else had bought. I had worked off a hangover the following day on overpriced brunch.

In my 5 months in Argentina, I had come to love many things about Argentina, and it had become clear early that full breakfast would never be one of those things. I let Lake Nahuel Huapi heal my hangover with its beauty and had a day packed full of adventures, stories for another time-think getting lost in Patagonia, being a patient in a very small, local emergency room type of stories.

The night of the 3 am return to my room began with more loud banter in the hostel common area facilitated by Malbec(one of Argentina’s proudest accomplishments), a healthy hatred of Chile-I personally love Chile, but the Argentinian-Chilean competition is no joke among native Argentinians- and myself as…

--

--

Camille Prairie
Hello, Love

NC-based freelance-writer and semi-functional 25 year old navigating what it means to be an adult. Find me at https://camilleprairie.co