How Do I Accept I’ll (Probably) Be Forever Alone?

When I try not to think about finding friends/partners and distracting myself, the thoughts still pop up.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo credit: iStock

By Harris O’Malley

Hi Doctor,

Before I being this long paragraph of ranting like George Carlin, there are a couple things I’d like to bring up. One is that I’m on a path in pursuing a career through college and finding hobbies to keep myself occupied. Second is that I’ve been on Prozac to treat my anxiety for 3 weeks now. However, occasionally I get these thoughts sometimes, they also pop up when I’m taking walks. I also decided to take a monthly break from dating apps and put my focus into school, but I feel like I might go through some withdrawal symptoms.

My birthday is 2 months away and I’ll be 31 but sometimes I feel like I’m just waiting for something random, serendipitous to happen to the point that it drives me crazy. But of course they all say “just be yourself and something will come along”, as if you don’t have to do anything. It just seems like everyone meets someone or experiences a hookup or whatever all because of seren-f***ing-dipity/random chance. Even when I try not to think about finding friends/partners and distracting myself, the thoughts still pop up. These months/years just go by quick

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com