How I Saved My Second Marriage

Terry Gaspard shares the story of how she pulled her second marriage back from the brink.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo credit: iStockPhoto

By Terry Gaspard

For years, I’ve marveled at couples who appeared to connect on a deep level while I struggled to save my second marriage from the brink of divorce. I was determined to beat the odds and avoid a second divorce but was cynical and lacked the skills to deal with the baggage leftover from my first marriage.

While many couples see remarriage as a second chance at happiness, the statistics tell a different story. According to available census data, the divorce rate for second marriages in the United States is over 60 percent compared to 50 percent for first marriages. These facts fueled my fears and pessimism.

In hindsight, my fear of failing was a major obstacle to achieving emotional attunement and intimacy in my second marriage. However, my fears also propelled me to search for ways to avoid divorce the second time around. When I turned to the experts, I was able to reconnect with my husband and regain the love we had early on — before ghosts from our past relationships cast a dark shadow over our marriage.

A Sense of Secure Connection Is Key to Positive Romantic Relationships

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com