How to Get Over Rejection By Someone You Like

First, don’t try to figure out where it went wrong.

Colin Zhang
Hello, Love

--

source

A couple of weeks ago. Someone I crushed on told me, “Do your thing and I’ll do mine.”

I couldn’t think straight for the next 40+ hours. Spiraling into a mixture of humiliation, anger, resentment, anxiety, and curiosity. What, she doesn’t think I’m good enough for her? Am I just not her type? Who the hell does she think she is? But she displayed so much interest. I guess I was wrong.

I haven’t even fallen deep for her. Yet, this felt worse than a breakup. It was the punch to my self-esteem that hurt the most.

Rejection is often about ego. To get over it, one has to redeem themselves internally.

It has very little to do with you

Rejection doesn’t mean you aren’t good enough; it means the other person failed to notice what you have to offer.

— Mark Amend

The first thing people do after being rejected is pointing the finger at themselves. Asking the person in the mirror why you aren’t taller? Why can’t you be smarter? In reality, you aren’t the problem.

--

--