How To Mend a Broken Heart

Neil Goldberg
Hello, Love
Published in
Feb 5, 2022

Al Green asked, “How Can You Mend a Broken Heart?”

I have an answer.
Don’t.

Let it ache, I say.
Drown me in the sorrow of this life.

Leave me to mourn the loss of my father.
And touch the pain of my severed marriage.
I want to hear the loneliness of a house where children have grown and gone.

I want to touch it all.

The laughter
The pain
This human experience
The full catastrophe

A broken heart may leave me gasping for air
Yet breath itself
Is the magical elixir

I rise up
A new day
Behold the magnificence of this life
Tears of joy run down my face.

What a gift to be alive!

--

--

Neil Goldberg
Hello, Love

Quit operating social media co’s to share social kindness, mindfulness & love. Author, father, mentor, American Red Cross board member. www.trybeinghuman.com