I Cheated on My Husband, and Now I’ll Never Love Someone Again for Their “Potential”

I didn’t want to acknowledge that when someone doesn’t meet our needs, that’s not a reflection on them, but on us.

Tara Blair Ball
Hello, Love
Published in
5 min readJul 9, 2021

--

Photo by Alexis Fauvet on Unsplash

I never planned to cheat on my first husband.

That’s always the way these stories start out, right? I had already filed for divorce from him. I was lonely. I was uncertain. I felt like we should “try to make it work for the children.”

But then I met someone who was nice to me.

That’s the saddest thing looking back is that all I craved was the bare minimum. This man wasn’t attractive. He didn’t care about me or respect me much, but he was, at times, very nice to me.

I think now that my greatest failure wasn’t in cheating, but in marrying my ex-husband in the first place. It seemed like the right choice at the time. Doesn’t it always?

Except I loved him and married him for his potential, instead of his reality.

I thought marriage would change him, that our wedding vows would turn him suddenly more affectionate, passionate, and communicative. He’d be more complimentary. He’d desire and want me as I thought all…

--

--

Tara Blair Ball
Hello, Love

Certified Relationship Coach, Author, and Podcast Co-host for Breaking Free from Narcissistic Abuse. https://beacons.page/tara.relationshipcoach