I Dreamed of Love and It Scared the Sh*t Out of Me

Have we forgotten how?

Zackary Henson
Hello, Love

--

Note: There’s something that happens when we no longer actively act things out in our lives. We may remember them clearly, but we somehow forget, truly, how great it was. How important it was. How healing it was.

Have all of us who’ve given up romance…given up more than we realize?

I had this dream last week.

Amazing, frightening, and emotionally destabilizing.

The dream was definitely long. But unrecognizable.

You know the ones.

You don’t remember anything but tidbits. How it started, the vagueness of abstract plot, and usually the end right before you wake.

I was in a relationship with someone, though I couldn’t tell you her name.

Someone I loved deeply. So deeply, my heart felt like hot iron in my chest, while I was experiencing it.

It wasn’t someone I knew from my reality, but someone I felt I knew. Someone who, without them, I knew I would lose my touch with life and that deep satisfaction that only romantic love seems to bring.

I was afraid…

--

--

Zackary Henson
Hello, Love

Writer who questions everything. Self, Behavior, Perspective, Connection. Truth and love. https://zackaryhenson.substack.com zackary@therebelminded.com