I Heard a Young Guy Say This to His Girlfriend

I wanted to tell her to run for her life.

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Hello, Love

--

Photo by cottonbro studio: On Pexels

I’m sitting at the bar in the restaurant attached to my building. It’s happy hour but I’m not drinking. I’m getting a salad, and doing some work on my laptop.

A young couple sits next to me.

It’s obvious they’re in the infancy of their relationship.

They chat with me for a few minutes, and we laugh together. Their banter is cute. They’re adorable in every sense of the word. I’m happy for them.

Until…

I hear the guy say, “Women getting in accidents, shocking.”

He’s insinuating that women are terrible drivers.

I can’t help but look over at him to reassess his age. Why? Because I would hope something this archaic wouldn’t exit a young man’s mouth. This mentality sounds like a disrespectful old guy.

And not a guy in his late 20s.

I want to tell this girl to run for her life.

I married a man who made jokes like this. I reacted the same way this young girl did. I laughed. I was easygoing. It seemed like my boyfriend and then-husband was being funny.

He wasn’t.

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Hello, Love

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com