I Want a Partner, Not a Man-Child

I had to have a heart-to-heart with my husband sooner than I expected, and we had to set some guidelines.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

By April Grant

Mess. Clutter. Stuff. If I had a crystal ball, I would have done so many things differently. I didn’t realize how bad the issue would get.

Before marriage, my husband ran his own household, did his own laundry, cooked his own food, and tidied his own apartment. His clean home was attractive to me. I was never afraid to enter the bathroom for fear of what I’d find.

When he first moved in with me, he cleaned; he picked up after himself and kept things neat. Then, when we both had decent salaries, we indulged in a housekeeper. Our jobs exhausted us from long office hours, and we didn’t want to spend our limited free time cleaning.

Skip forward a few years, I worked from home, and my three children are the center of my life. Without my income, we could no longer afford the extra set of hands. I tried to balance working, childcare, and our household. When my husband got home, I tended to him too.

To be clear, I was not a submissive wife following him around like a 1950s homemaker. Even with my feminist, independent view, I was still pulling more than my fair share of family…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com