Is Your Inner Rebel Destroying Your Marriage?

I get it. I don’t like being told what to do either.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo credit: iStock

By Lesli Doares

Never rebel for the sake of rebelling, but always rebel for the sake of truth.

Criss Jami

Your wife is asking for you to do more around the house. Doesn’t she understand how tired you are from your long day at work? Doesn’t she appreciate all you already do and now she wants more? Why does it have to be on her timetable? Why does it have to be done her way?

If any of this sounds familiar, you might be letting your inner rebel take charge.

I get it. I don’t like being told what to do either.

I thought I had put my inner rebel to bed when I was in the 9th grade. I had spent two years being called by one or the other of my oldest sisters’ names by my math teacher and I was tired of it.

I had spent my entire life being compared to them and never feeling good enough. I remember wondering if this was just the way things would always be.

I briefly entertained the idea of choosing to do things completely opposite from them. But I knew that becoming the “bad” girl wasn’t in my long-term best interest. Instead, I committed to outdoing them when and where I could.

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com