I’ve Always Wanted To Be the Damsel in Distress

I’m awaiting my knight in shining armor.

Jill K
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Andalucía Andaluía on Unsplash

I have been a romantic for most of my life. I had fantasies of being the damsel in distress, hoping that one day, my knight in shining armor would come to rescue me from this wretched single life, and we’d live happily ever after.

I was 23 at the time and slightly delusional.

I have never considered myself a serial dater. Looking back at how I approached dating, I realized I was trying too hard to be someone I wasn't.

I was chasing a romanticized dream that could only be true in Hollywood movies and a handful of couples. I came to the conclusion that I didn’t really know who I was back then.

Until my last breakup.

That relationship started off with many red flags, but I held on to it for six years, thinking this was as good as it was going to get. Truth is, I just got too comfortable.

After the breakup, I took some time off to ‘find myself’. I went on 4 dates in 3 years and spent the rest of the time on me — going on vacations by myself; working out; doing better at my job, and worked on being a more emotionally independent person.

I had been doing the whole relationship thing all wrong, and I was happy being on my own…

--

--

Jill K
Hello, Love

Lover of the written word and the chaotic weirdness around her. Usually funny. Get in touch: jill_afterdark@yahoo.com