Lost Love: Why Unrequited Love Is Indispensable.

Kim Petersen
Hello, Love
Published in
7 min readMar 16, 2020

--

Image by @ linux1987 via Deposit Photos

“I think you are the most wonderful person in the world.”

Love and kindness are two of the greatest gifts we can give and receive in the world. I have been fortunate enough to receive both love and kindness throughout my life. I’ve been even more blessed to have given my love freely. When expressed sincerely, love and kindness create a ripple effect in how we treat others. But sometimes, telling someone that you love them might produce the opposite effect.

It might see them running for the hills.

That happened to me once. I fell in love with someone who could never express his feelings in the same way. Granted, the circumstances were less than ideal, but that’s the thing about love — it doesn’t acknowledge situations or rules. It creeps up and catches you unaware until one day you look up to see your heart cracked and bleeding over your sleeve as you wonder what the hell went wrong.

This love was different from any kind of love I had ever known.

The connection showed me what it meant to love without expectations. The lessons were intense and at times, extremely tough. He took me to the highest love-sphere and dropped me with as much velocity.

He managed to seep into my soul and mirror back at me parts of myself that I never knew…

--

--

Kim Petersen
Hello, Love

Award-winning & Bestselling Author | HH Prac. (Hol.Meta.Heal) | Writing About Soul. Love. Humor. Spirituality. Life. Relationships | https://kimpetersen.com.au/