Love Is Not Falling For A Stranger In A Coffee Shop

Love is journey, not a destination.

Mary Niazi
Hello, Love

--

There are some intricacies of human emotion and our Psyche that remain unexplored. I want to touch on the ones revolving mating and dating. The one thing I have learned over the course of my own journey is how much we Glamorize Falling In Love VS. Being In LOVE. One process is automatic, based on our primal natures and the way some stranger looks at us in a Coffee Shop. The other process is more delicate, like carving a vase in a pottery class.

Real Love requires consistent tending and caring. You have to genuinely want the best outcome for the person of your affection; not relegating them to a mere object of your own projections.

This version, is actually way harder to do. We have been taught for a long time that Fairytales and Happy Ever After’s are a must, even in the modern world of Independence and Thirst for Adventure and Novelty. When these two paradigms clash, the results can be disastrous. Both needs are in constant conflict with one another. The fact that Falling In Love is different than Being In Love did not hit me until I was well into my late-20s.

As a young, ambitious 20-Something, my main goal was to delay relationships in pursit of Wealth and Status. I thought if I could just take one more seminar, read one more self-improvement book, get one more degree, I would finally feel enough. This was an automatic script I ran around, foregoing the notions of Love altogether for a…

--

--

Mary Niazi
Hello, Love

I am Funny, Sometimes. IG@SociopathicTendencies