Marriage Counseling Wasn’t an Easy Experience

It’s difficult to have your faults stare you in the face.

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Polina Zimmerman: On Pexels

“Did anyone ever tell you that you have a little Dr. Phil in you,” I say jokingly.

“Yes,” says my marriage counselor. “I have heard that before.”

My husband and I have been seeing our counselor for months. It’s early in our couples therapy. But it’s long enough that we’re now hearing hard truths about ourselves.

There are some that may not believe it’s bad to be called an enabler.

My ex-husband didn’t think it was.

It aggravated him.

“You get to be called caring,” he would say. “And I get to be an asshole.”

That wasn’t what our counselor told my husband. That was his interpretation of it. He was told he lacked empathy. Empathy is a developmental stage we receive in childhood.

It was a severe deficit.

Despite my husband’s opinion, there’s nothing healthy about being an enabler.

It’s what led to my demise.

I grew to love counseling but in the beginning, it wasn’t easy. It’s difficult to have your faults stare you in the face. I always say I went to marriage counseling with the same motivation…

--

--

Colleen Sheehy Orme
Hello, Love

National Relationship Columnist, Journalist & Former Business Columnist. I cover love, life, & relationships— #WomanResurrected colleen.sheehy.orme@gmail.com