My Brother’s Ashes Are Still Sitting in My Closet

It’s time to scatter him in the wind and let him go.

La Musa
Hello, Love

--

My only younger brother died last may. I could say it was “unexpected” but for years I worried that drugs would kill him.

Even when you prepare for the worst- you aren’t really prepared. My brother died ingesting Xanax that had fentanyl in it last May.

My brother was making quite a bit of money — as a salesman for a company that competed with my Ex husbands telecommunications business.

When he died, he had no life insurance, nothing to help pay for a funeral or anything to leave his two children.

I certainly didn’t have much money for a funeral as I am struggling on my own, starting over after divorcing.

Strangely, a couple of days before I learned of my brother’s death, my manager realized I had not properly collected my “on call” wages as a hospice nurse. She helped me claim all the wages I was owed and I was excited I would get paid for all the nights I worked and pronounced…

--

--

La Musa
Hello, Love

A tiny, but heavy instigator of tears and laughter. Knowledge seeker. I hope to one day write about life with fresh, hazel eyes. Seeking muses.