My Country Has an Extremely Sexist Easter Tradition

The only way this would be worse is if women turned into actual hens.

Denisa Cerna
Hello, Love

--

М. Gardavská, Public domain, via Wikimedia Commons

I’m writing this on an Easter Monday. Any second, a bunch of men can knock at my door and expect me to let them beat me with sticks. As a reward, I should give them eggs.

Sounds absurd?

While this tradition seems really weird to any foreigner, many Czech men absolutely love it. No surprise there — the Czech Republic is one of the most sexist countries in Europe, and so if anyone should beat women with sticks to celebrate Easter, it’d probably be Czech men.

The tradition is supposed to keep women fertile

Since ages ago (the exact date isn’t clear), men have been making what is called “pomlázka” out of tree branches, usually the willow tree.

Photo by Josef Plch on Wikipedia (Creative Commons license)

On Easter Monday, boys and men basically of all ages imaginable go from house to house and knock at the door as if it was trick-or-treating.

Girls and their mothers open the door, the men whip their butts while singing a song with lyrics such as “give me…

--

--

Denisa Cerna
Hello, Love

Freelance writer & bookworm writing on self-development, psychology, relationships, and more.