She’s Always Freaking Out On Me

If you’re feeling at the mercy of your partner’s emotions, you can do it differently

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Stuart Motola

“I can’t be me without her freaking out on me,” my client Tim said to me.

Wow, I thought, that sounds tough; and I felt like that, once upon a time.

Does your partner ever freak out on you?

Maybe you said one thing and she misinterpreted it to mean something else. Or you tried to do something you thought was kind and then she called you “selfish.”

It can leave a guy feeling like he has to walk on eggshells around his partner. And over time, he often wonders, What can I do to not have her freak out?

That was Tim’s deal. He was just trying to help out his wife — a good guy on her team.

You see, his wife’s mom was sick, which meant a lot of stress on her. So trying to give his wife a break, Tim suggested taking the kids away for the weekend.

And BAM! She got super upset, accusing him of being inconsiderate and bailing on her.

“I was just trying to help,” he said.

Have you ever had something well-intentioned backfire with your partner?

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com