SINGLE LIFE

Journal Entry #3: The Truths about Being a Single Matchmaker

Part 1

Liliana Andrino
Hello, Love
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2023

--

a single matchmaker writing on a notebook
Photo by Content Pixie on Unsplash

I’m a single matchmaker.

Yes, I get curious looks from people when they find out that I’m single despite my profession.

I understand how this might look to them, but I have yet to find my ideal partner, and I’m in no hurry. It’s as simple as that.

Then again, if there’s one thing that surprises me most, it’s that my clients trust me to help them find love despite my single status.

That being said, here are a few truths about me working as a single matchmaker:

1. My clients are not my emotional punching bag.

Three years ago, I had an Australian client who has long been joining our tours. He has been a member of Davao Women since 2017 and has met a handful of ladies from our service.

During a session, he asked me,

“Lili, why are you single?

I answered, “How come you trust me to help you find a wife even though you know I’m single?

He smiled and replied,

“Well, I can see that you don’t think men are trash. I can see it in the way you talk to me and your other clients.”

That, I didn’t expect to hear. He went on further and said,

“You help men like me find love. To think you have hatred against us would be absurd. I just know I’m going to get the best help from you.”

What Connor said to me that day has never left my heart since.

It motivated me to go beyond what I think I can do for my clients.

2. My clients rely on my skills, not on my personal life experience.

The technicalities of my profession do not necessarily reflect my personal life.

I may be able to read through people, see who’s sincerely looking for love, yet still be single. And this is what most people often get wrong about my job.

Weaving together a good love story is my craft. I prioritize the happiness of my clients and it brings me joy whenever I help them find lasting love.

That’s all for me today.

My next coaching session is up and I need to get ready.

Stay tuned for the next part!

Related read: Journal Entry #2: My Client Finally Decided to Travel to the Philippines

Davao Women banner logo
About Liliana Andrino for Davaowomen.com

--

--

Liliana Andrino
Hello, Love

Professional Dating Coach, Writer, and Mentor for https://davaowomen.com/ I am an advocate for love that goes beyond borders.