Sitting on the Bench in Juneau Was a Promise My Ex Boyfriend Failed to Keep

A love story.

I, Napoleon B.
Hello, Love

--

Sitting on the Bench in Juneau Was a Promise My Ex Boyfriend Failed to Keep. In photo, a bench with nice outdoor scenery.
Photo by Lee Karkit on Unsplash

Whenever I think of Alaska, I remember the TV show Northern Exposure in the 1990s. It still is one of the greatest TV shows in my book, a favorite to this day. The ensemble characters gave me my first glimpse of what life is like in rural America.

While everything feels slow, everything is also the same. As long as there are people, stories are waiting to be told. Like the one I am about to share, this is my love story.

One revisits places so often in their lifetime — whether by going back to that place or by remembering the memories. One day, I would like to be in Alaska again.

Alaska, while cold outside, is full of warm memories on the inside. Alaska, everything I know about it, I learned from history class. The 49th state, a place once a part of Russia.

When I was young, never in my wildest dreams did I imagine that I would set foot in Alaska one day? Yet 11 years after I watched the last episode of Northern Exposure, I was walking the streets of Anchorage, Alaska.

I can still feel the cold breeze as I tell you my story, but this isn’t a story of whale watching, the glaciers, and the ice cream store. I loved that ice cream store in Juneau. This is about a bench in…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
Hello, Love

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS