Staying Took Forever, Leaving An Instant

I stayed past the last kiss, last time we had sex, last time I wanted to look him in the eye.

--

Anguished woman holds up her hand.

For years, an essay title mulled around in my mind, “Split Decision: Staying Present in a Fractured Marriage.” The problem was, I didn’t dare write it.

A few close friends picked up on the double meaning. Split decision hinted at the truths behind my life, the veil of happiness, or at least acceptance, that I wore for public viewing. While I had healthy, intelligent children, lived in a pretty home in an enviable neighborhood, and took pride in owning a business with my spouse, I kept a secret.

My husband was mentally unstable, emotionally manipulative, and often scared the crap out of me.

I stayed.

I stayed past the last kiss, last time we had sex, last time I wanted to look him in the eye. I stayed until his presence repulsed me, and even when I no longer cared what might happen to him when he was out late on one of his self-medicating drinking benders to calm the storm in his brain.

I stayed when he flirted with my friends or demeaned me in front of others. I stayed when those who knew what was going on implored me to do something. I stayed when my father said, “that man is after your money,” not knowing that my savings was woefully depleted.

I didn’t stay because I was afraid to leave, or doubted my ability to make it on my own.

I knew I could live a much better life. I knew I deserved it too.

I stayed for my child. I stayed because had I left, my youngest would have to be alone with her father, and I wouldn’t be there to protect her from the brunt of his manic anger.

Freedom Rang

Then one day freedom came. My husband lost his temper with my son.

The moment it happened, I put myself between the two of them. My child sheltered behind me while my husband towered over both of us. I was terrified by what I saw in his eyes, and past threats came to my mind.

I’ll get even.

You won’t see it coming.

I know the laws, I won’t cross them.

I’ll make you miserable...

Dueling Messages

In public, I was his “better half.” In private, I was half alive.

This time, it was different. As I loosened his grip on us, I met his gaze of rage with one of determination, and inside I heard my voice silently celebrating.

“I’m free. I’m free. Thank God, at last, I am free.”

This time, I no longer needed to stay.

The moment a parent assaults a child, the courts take notice. They can’t give lip service to physical abuse like they do to emotional, verbal and psychological harm.

This time I could leave because this time my children were coming with me.

Staying took forever; leaving happened in that instant.

The irony of the night? It was at a Passover Seder, the night that Jews around the world celebrate the Hebrew Exodus from slavery.

Running From Bears

Mental illness and personality disorders aren’t criminal, but the wake of pain that these conditions leave on the loved ones are traumatic.

It is estimated are that upwards of 60 million Americans are diagnosed with bipolar disorder. Characterized by extreme mood swings, bipolar disorder is one of several personality disorders identified in the DSM (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Psychology). The manifestations and ways to treat the condition are vast and varied.

I thought I’d done my due diligence when we were dating.

With a degree in psychology and biology, I thought I knew more than the average person about mental disorders, and even asked medical friends of mine for their advice about getting involved with someone like my ex-husband.

What no one said was that medicines are often inadequate. The moment the brain chemistry of a person goes haywire, there’s no predicting what can happen or how long it will take for the person, and those around them, to find their center and calm again.

Here’s how I learned to see it. If I had high blood pressure, I could take medicine to control that. But if I were being chased in the woods by a bear, no amount of drugs could keep my heart rate from racing.

Funny thing is, I used to think of my husband as a bear. In the beginning of our relationship, he could be cuddly. Turns out, he roared and was as unpredictable as a grizzly.

Running from either had as many dangers as playing dead, which was what I’d been doing all those years.

Life After Death

This incident took place four years ago. Once upon a time, I enjoyed writing and did so prolifically until the stress of my relationship took its toll on my creativity.

Only the title of this blog tethered me to my inner muses. By writing this, I’m tapping into my dormant creativity and learning to trust again.

I made it to the other side, intact and stronger for it.

I am my own heroine and the heroine for my children.

I have a new life, one that works for our family of three.

It took years to feel ready to trust. I love myself and know I will love again. When I fall in love once more, this is what I know: that man will love me for my rawness, courage, convictions, and strength. His arms will hold and caress. His lips will speak encouragements and freely kiss. His mind will earn my respect and admiration. His heart will pulse with kindness and conviction, and we will bring the best out of one another.

For that kind of love, I will stay forever.

Related stories:

--

--

Split Decision: Staying Present in a Chaotic World
Hello, Love

Ambiverted writer exploring the topics that matter most to me: love, dating, personal growth, relationship and motherhood.