The 3 Traits of Incredibly Loyal Friends

They treat you like family, even when you’re in trouble.

Ryan Fan
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Karina Carvalho on Unsplash

We can’t go long without having good friends, and the best of our friends are incredibly loyal. They stand with you even in times of great turmoil in your life, like a divorce, breakup, death in the family, or job loss. You know your friend is incredibly loyal when they reach out in times of need, even when there is no transactional need in your relationship.

I was in this position in my last year of college. My personal life had been misconstrued and misunderstood by seemingly everyone, and a lot of people I thought were my “friends” didn’t even make eye contact with me anymore. I don’t know if it was just in my head or if it was real, but I was treated like I didn’t even exist. Perception certainly felt like reality. I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt, but at 21, two years ago, I didn’t quite understand that I needed to do what was best for me as well.

However, I had five friends who stuck with me the whole time and helped me block out the noise. They not only spent time with me, but listened in my time of need without trying to fix me. It’s not like everyone else was a bad person, but these were the friends that gave me grace in my time of greatest need, and I gave everything I could to them as well.

--

--

Ryan Fan
Hello, Love

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.”