The Day I Realized I Loved My Dad

Finding love in imperfection.

Dreea✨
Hello, Love

--

Image by Anisia Kuzmina from Tumbler

I did not live in a healthy family environment, my parents were not a role model for me.

They taught me what love is not, instead of what love is.

I do not know the exact moment when it all started, maybe because it wasn’t just one moment, but more that led to my father ceasing to live.

I do recall some memories I created with my dad while I was a child, this is why I know that he was not always this way, but those memories fade as time passes by.

What I mostly remember is him not being active, he would stay in bed all day watching TV and getting angry if we made too much noise.

He did not like noise, but I understand that because I also grew to be irritated by too much noise.

My parents used to fight a lot, mostly because of my dad’s habit of drinking and financial issues, and I would hear them most of the day.

I even thought at some point that I hated my dad for being this way, but at the same time, I resented my mom for not letting things go, for just letting it be and not confronting him, that way I wouldn’t have to see them fight.

--

--