The Dreaded “Talking Stage”: All Your Burning Questions Answered

The talking stage is like dating — but without all the societal pressures and expectations.

Damisola Sulaiman
Hello, Love

--

There is a term that has sprung up among Gen-Z’ers in recent times; the “talking stage” and the idea of “talking” to someone. And I will be the first to admit that this concept is one of the most confusing things I have ever come across. A lot of us ask ourselves, what does it even mean? what expectations should I have? what should come after? In order to demystify this concept, I did some digging, with the help of my friends, the internet and my own understanding, I came up with some answers for what I think are the FAQs for this concept.

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

To provide some context, I created a sample of boys and girls, all in the age group of 17 to 20. I used their answers to my questions, and my conclusions based on their answers and my personal knowledge to figure some things out. Their insight was extremely helpful, and helped me develop what I think are very well-rounded answers to any questions you might have.

What Is The Talking Stage?

The talking stage is the period where two people who have expressed a mutual romantic interest in each other, get to know each other on a level deeper than friendship, to…

--

--