The Hard Truth About Being an Insecure Partner

I now embrace my insecurities, rather than burying them.

Anggun Bawi
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Keira Burton from Pexels

To say that someone doesn’t have any insecurities in her/him relationship is a lie. Even if you’re with the right person and is the happiest being taken, there are still moment where you wish you change one or two things about yourself.

My long-term relationship with my boyfriend has evolved into something much better than I expected. I thought we’d be stuck in such a toxic dynamic forever.

But therapy helped us, and we both are aware of the fact that if we want to make it last, we need to work harder on our insecurities.

No one likes to admit that they aren’t perfect for their partner

I’ve witnessed too many compatible couples break up because their ego got in the way. The girl can be too jealous, and the guy feels trapped being with her. Yet both of them never actually sat down and discussed the solution.

People say a relationship is complex because there isn’t an exact formula/guidebook on how to solve your problems, but if you look at it closer, most relationship problems out there are repetitive.

--

--

Anggun Bawi
Hello, Love

writing on trauma, dating and relationships - in the hope that you'll feel less alone on your journey | lives in vancouver 🇨🇦