The Internal Struggle Men Battle in Silence

No matter what we do, no matter how much success we achieve, this struggle is real and affects every man.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo credit: iStock

By Kimanzi Constable

There are all kinds of emotions and feelings every guy struggles with on a daily basis. Some of these we feel comfortable telling friends, family, or loved ones about. Others, we battle within our minds and bodies. You could look on our face and see someone who appears “happy” but inside, we’re dying. Inside of us is a daily struggle that threatens to derail anything we want to accomplish in life.

I’ve fought this battle since I was 17-years-old. I didn’t grow up rich. I didn’t grow up with any lucky breaks. At 17, I had to leave home and was homeless for six months. Every day I slept with one eye open worried about the cast of characters that wouldn’t hesitate to hurt me on the streets of Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

I had to survive. I did get off the streets and met an amazing woman who would become my wife. I got an excellent job at Pepsi Cola that paid $55,000 a year as an 18-year-old. We got a place together; we bought all the toys we wanted. We had a happy honeymoon phase of our marriage, but the internal struggle still continued.

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com