The Moment You Realize You Married Your Parent

So that’s why they always seemed familiar.

L.A. Strucke
Hello, Love

--

Photo by OSPAN ALI on Unsplash

“I knew you before I met you. I’ve known you my whole life.”

― Nayyirah Waheed

Ever meet someone and you feel like you’ve known and loved them forever?

It may be because you have. This person may be a mirror of your parents. I discovered this quite by accident one day while loading the dishwasher.

My partner was getting on my nerves. While I loaded the dishwasher, he rolled his eyes. “You’re doing it all wrong.”

“What are you talking about? It’s fine,” I said.

Then he leaned over and took out all the dishes, cups, spoons and forks, and painstakingly reloaded it his way. For in his eyes, his way was always better than mine.

“I don’t know why you bothered,” I said, “They come out clean both ways.”

“There’s a difference,” he said. “My way is the right way.”

Then I had a flashback

Memories came flashing back. I was a young girl. My Mom assigned me the chore of polishing the furniture. I felt so important. She’d finally entrusted me with a grown-up task.

--

--

L.A. Strucke
Hello, Love

Top Writer, Songwriter. Published in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Highlights for Children and Guideposts. Editor of The Creative Project.