The Most Empowering Ways To Be Single and Happy

Remember why things really ended.

Ruth Matthews
Hello, Love

--

I’ve been single for over two years now.

Before that, I was in a committed, monogamous relationship with a man I thought I would be with for the rest of my life. We discussed marriage and children.

Something was wrong and had been wrong in the relationship for a long time. It crept up on me, invisible at first and then screaming in my face.

I had my fingers in my ears, ignoring the voice for so long, but eventually, I had to listen to it.

We were miserable together. The entire relationship was like a rollercoaster, with the highest of highs and the lowest of lows.

My happiness became dependent on how we were doing, which depended on my partner’s mood that day. He could twist and turn the littlest things I said around to put me in the wrong.

The worst part was I’d find myself crying and actually apologizing for it, even though I had no idea what I’d actually done to upset him.

It took me an embarrassingly long time to realize I couldn’t keep living like that. It was stealing my youth and killing me slowly from the inside out.

Leaving was one of the hardest things I did. It felt like I’d severed a limb at…

--

--

Ruth Matthews
Hello, Love

On a mission to live true to myself. I write about creative non-conformity & self-love. Subscribe to my free weekly newsletter here: https://rb.gy/utwgyk