Communication

The Power of “I” Statements

7 ways to communicate your needs without blame in a relationship.

Elizabeth Karls
Hello, Love

--

I believe in continuous improvement. I believe humans change and that is okay. Being in love with someone does not automatically imply there is no room for improvement or maintenance of the relationship.

Effective communication is a cornerstone of great relationships. And in great relationships, both people know how to express their needs effectively to their partner.

Sarah and Mike are my friends who taught me the profound impact of “I” statements. They have been my friends for years, and their relationship seemed perfect from the outside.

They were the couple everyone in our circles admired: always laughing, always together. But behind closed doors, things weren’t as harmonious.

They struggled with communication, often finding themselves in heated arguments where both felt misunderstood and blamed.

One evening, over dinner, they confided in me about their troubles.

Sarah described how their arguments often started over small things but escalated quickly, with each accusing the other of causing hurt and frustration.

Mike, equally distressed, mentioned that he felt he couldn’t express his needs without Sarah feeling attacked.

Inspired by their story, I began researching ways to help them improve their communication. I stumbled upon the concept of “I” statements and shared it with them.

They were skeptical at first but decided to give it a try. And as they say, the rest is history.

Over time, they noticed a significant change. Their conversations became more constructive, and they felt more connected and understood. This transformation in Sarah and Mike’s relationship inspired me to write this article and share the power of “I” statements with others.

Healthy communication is the cornerstone of any successful relationship.

However, it can be challenging to communicate our needs without making our partner feel blamed or defensive.

One powerful tool to achieve this is the use of “I” statements.

Here are seven ways to use “I” statements to communicate your needs effectively and foster a more understanding and supportive relationship.

1. “I feel…” instead of “You make me feel…”

Expressing emotions is crucial in relationships, but it can be tricky to do so without assigning blame.

Starting a sentence with “You make me feel…” can make your partner feel attacked and defensive. Instead, try using “I feel…” to own your emotions and reduce defensiveness.

According to renowned relationship expert Dr. John Gottman of the Gottman Institute, when you use ‘I feel’ statements, you take responsibility for your own emotions rather than blaming your partner for them. He emphasizes that this approach fosters a more open and non-confrontational dialogue.

For example, instead of saying, “You make me feel unappreciated,” try saying, “I feel unappreciated when…”

This subtle shift focuses on your feelings and experiences rather than accusing your partner of causing them.

2. “I need…” instead of “You never…”

Communicating your needs is essential for a healthy relationship.

However, starting with “You never…” can put your partner on the defensive. Instead, frame your needs using “I need…”

“When you articulate your needs clearly, you give your partner a better understanding of how they can support you,” says Dr. Sue Johnson, a clinical psychologist and relationship expert.

This approach encourages cooperation rather than conflict.

For example, instead of saying, “You never listen to me,” try saying, “I need to feel heard when I talk about my day.”

This statement clearly communicates your need without blaming your partner.

3. “I noticed…” instead of “You always…”

This is one I had to work on really strongly with my partner. He would feel attacked and get on the defensive and in turn I would feel attacked and get on the defensive.

It was a vicious cycle that always left us feeling frustrated with each other and like communication had not happened.

Now instead of saying “you always do this negative thing…”, I say “I noticed that this happened…”

“By focusing on specific behaviors rather than generalizing, you can address issues more constructively,” advises Dr. Harville Hendrix, a relationship counselor and author. “This helps your partner understand your perspective without feeling criticized.”

For example, instead of saying, “You always leave your dishes in the sink,” try saying, “I noticed that the dishes were left in the sink.”

This statement focuses on the behavior without making it a personal attack.

4. “I appreciate when you…” instead of “You never do anything nice for me…”

Positive reinforcement is a powerful way to encourage desired behaviors in a relationship. Instead of focusing on what your partner doesn’t do, highlight what you appreciate.

“Expressing appreciation for your partner’s actions can strengthen your relationship and make them feel valued,” says Dr. Gary Chapman, author of “The 5 Love Languages.” “This positive focus can lead to more of the behaviors you appreciate.”

For example, instead of saying, “You never do anything nice for me,” try saying, “I appreciate it when you surprise me with my favorite coffee.”

This statement reinforces positive behavior and shows gratitude.

5. “I feel connected when…” instead of “You’re always distant…”

Building emotional intimacy is key to a healthy relationship. Instead of accusing your partner of being distant, express what makes you feel connected.

“Sharing what makes you feel close to your partner can help build emotional intimacy and understanding,” says Dr. Esther Perel, a psychotherapist and relationship expert. “It opens the door to more meaningful connections.”

For example, instead of saying, “You’re always distant,” try saying, “I feel connected when we spend quality time together.”

This statement focuses on fostering closeness rather than highlighting distance.

6. “I would like to…” instead of “You should…”

Suggesting changes in a relationship can be delicate. Instead of telling your partner what they should do, express what you would like to see happen.

“When you use ‘I would like to’ statements, you invite collaboration and discussion,” explains Dr. Terri Orbuch, a relationship therapist and author. “This approach is more likely to lead to positive changes and mutual understanding.”

For example, instead of saying, “You should spend more time with me,” try saying, “I would like to spend more time together.”

This statement expresses your desire without dictating your partner’s actions.

7. “I feel supported when…” instead of “You never support me…”

Feeling supported in a relationship is vital for emotional well-being.

Instead of focusing on the lack of support, highlight what makes you feel supported.

“Expressing what makes you feel supported helps your partner understand your needs better,” says Dr. Brené Brown, a research professor and expert on vulnerability and relationships. “It promotes a supportive and nurturing environment.”

For example, instead of saying, “You never support me,” try saying, “I feel supported when you listen to my concerns.”

This statement clearly communicates your need for support in a positive way.

How Anyone Can Adopt This

Using “I” statements can transform the way you communicate in your relationship, fostering understanding and reducing conflict.

Here are some steps to integrate “I” statements into your daily interactions:

Practice regularly

Like any skill, using “I” statements takes practice.

Make a conscious effort to incorporate them into your conversations until it becomes a natural habit.

Stay mindful

Be aware of your language during discussions, especially during conflicts.

Catch yourself if you start to use accusatory language and reframe your statements using “I” statements.

Encourage your partner

Share the concept of “I” statements with your partner and encourage them to use it as well.

Mutual effort can significantly improve communication in your relationship.

Reflect on your communication.

After conversations, reflect on how you used “I” statements and the impact it had on the discussion.

This can help you refine your approach and improve over time.

Seek support if needed

If you find it challenging to change your communication habits, consider seeking help from a relationship therapist.

They can provide guidance and support as you work to improve your communication.

Final Thoughts

Anyone can embrace the power of “I” statements and this will help them communicate their needs more effectively and strengthen their relationship.

This approach not only reduces blame and defensiveness but also creates a more understanding and supportive connection with your partner.

Start practicing today and experience the positive impact on your relationship.

Please Share Your Thoughts

Please let me know your thoughts about “I” statements in the comments section. Is this something you practise in your relationships?

You might also enjoy reading these:

Love, Relationships, and Everything In Between

12 stories

--

--

Elizabeth Karls
Hello, Love

Clinical Psychologist in training. Mental Health advocate. Top writer in life, love, relationships, psychology. Write for us https://medium.com/clear-yo-mind