The Space Between Us

Basel Abu Alrub
Hello, Love
Published in
1 min readFeb 8, 2021

A Poem

Photo by Mutia Rahmah on Unsplash

You came around
On a warm afternoon.
You seemed different
I am changed and
Just like you
Different.

Around you came
Laid in a space
That was mine
At a place you became,
Yourself inside
My eyes.

Your voice is different
It is accepting.
It says I am different.
I hear your heart beating
With mine where you are now
Belonging.

You come around
On these warm days
Your smile invites me in.
It’s been too long.
It’s been lonely.
You said.

You don’t ask where
I’ve been and what I‘ve done.
You said you were.
traveling here to become
Undone…
To become one.

You come around
at noon every time
Time stands still
In this place.
It welcomes us in.
Every time.

Fear is now love,
disarmed
Love is now one
In it we find
Us as one.
Disarmed.

This time is no longer
Warm nor cold.
It just is a space between
The two of us.
That lasts.
Forever.

--

--