Thoughts About Dating to Consider as a Single Woman

Because you want a relationship that goes the distance.

Amy Mehta
Hello, Love

--

Mari Lezhava of Unsplash

When I got divorced in my late 30's, I set a goal. That goal was to remarry by the age of 40.

I was a driven and ambitious woman and focused on getting back the things that I had lost.

And I believe that this happens a lot to women as we age. In our 20's and 30's, the 40’s and beyond seem like a totally different life. One where you are ideally settled and have the family, great upwardly mobile career, paid off house, and regular social calendar that many of us aspire to.

So I made that vow to myself. And set about fulfilling it.

But as I started dating, I realized that rushing into a relationship was not working. It meant I was overlooking or minimizing red flags.

As I let the first situation drag on for 9 months, I vowed to let things bother me go. So many things about the guy were what I wanted in a man. During that first year, I wasted time. All because of this arbitrary deadline, and wanting to date just a bit to find my forever guy.

Here is what I soon realized:

  • Age IS just a number. The most important thing is finding a mate that you love and that fits in your life well. This means…

--

--

Amy Mehta
Hello, Love

Accounting Systems manager. I love a cozy couch and some good reading.