Photo by Paz Arando on Unsplash

What I Learned About Love In A Pandemic

We’re better than ever after sixteen years together.

Carmen Fong, MD
Published in
5 min readMay 19, 2020

--

I’m so grateful to wake up beside her every day, to feel her body folded around mine, fitting into all the right places. I can’t imagine how I got so lucky to have seen this face every day for over 16 years. There were many nights apart when we were both in training and did overnight shifts. Daytimes would be all messed up. We’d be all messed up. There were a few weeks here and there when we were geographically separated but still, we’d talk. Or FaceTime, these days. Back when we first met, I had a Razr flip phone.

These eight weeks might be one of the longest stretches in the last ten years where we’ve been together night and day, day and night. There were times when she went to the clinic and I went to the hospital and three nights when I was deployed to an emergency room, but we were still together during the day. Let me say this: we like each other more. We appreciate each other more. Whereas I’ve spent all this time worrying that we’d get sick of each other if we actually spent all our time together, I’m pleased to announce that this is entirely not the case.

We cook together now. I love to cook, but sometimes get tired of the expectation that I need to have dinner on the table, so I said so to her one night, about a month ago. Now…

--

--

Carmen Fong, MD
Hello, Love

Writer, artist, surgeon NYC>> ATL. LGBTQ+ Asian. Doximity Op Med Fellow ‘22-’23. www.carmenfong.com, https://linktr.ee/Hongkongfong