What Mean Girls Taught Me About Mean People

Because whether you are 12 or 65, female or male, the experience is largely the same.

Alexandra Ringer
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Tanja Žarić on Unsplash

When I was in 7th grade, I was the victim of mean girls. Of course, it was all over a boy. What else do 12-year-old girls have to mean about? Actually don’t answer that, the possibilities are too endless.

Long story short I was with my group of girlfriends at the annual summer Strawberry festival. It was seemingly a typical day filled with strawberry filled food, vendor trucks, and crowds (large crowds).

Yet, what appeared to be out of the blue, the girls started running. One by one, I watched my friends begin to run away. At first, I thought we were running from something or someone. I thought maybe this was a game.

So I began to run too, following them. But the girls kept running and it dawned on me that the game was running from me. I was immediately crushed. I was unsure of what I had done for these “friends” to turn on me like this.

Unequipped to know how to process what was happening to me, I walked home alone. I spent the rest of that summer girlfriend-less. I felt betrayed not only from these girls but from the whole female species.

--

--

Alexandra Ringer
Hello, Love

Life Coach & Writer on how to end toxic cycles appearing in your life and manifest the dream. I use my own story to inspire you✨ IG: @recov.her.y