What No One Tells You About Being Married To A Realtor

I don’t take it personally when my referrals don’t use him.

Katharine Chan
Hello, Love
Published in
6 min readFeb 23, 2021

--

Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

My husband made a career change about 3 years ago. He’s a Chartered Accountant by trade but real estate has been his passion for years. It was one of the reasons we fell in love as we both love Vancouver. When he took the plunge, we had a 2-year-old and were working on expanding our family.

The change affected our marriage, family dynamics, schedules and everything in between. I expected things to be different but there were some things no one told me about.

Realtors have a bad reputation because of a few bad apples

What do lawyers, used car salesmen, and realtors have in common?

Too many jokes about how slimy they are.

I used to think realtors were money-grubbing, commission-driven scum of the earth. When I sold my first condo, it seemed like my realtor barely did anything and yet he received a chunk of the proceeds. I did the nasty thing at the last minute of our negotiations, I made him cut part of his commission to make the offer work.

But now, after seeing and experiencing the other side of the coin, I realized realtors work their asses off. It’s not easy…

--

--

Katharine Chan
Hello, Love

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books