When Someone Takes Too Long To Text You Back

Keep your composure.

Colin Zhang
Hello, Love

--

I’m talking to someone right now. Although she’s responsive, curious, and seems genuinely interested, it still takes her hours, if not a whole day to get back to me sometimes. On a few occasions, there wasn’t even a reply. It leaves me wondering what she’s doing or if I had done something wrong. I compulsively check my phone. Every time there’s a “ding!” I charge to my Samsung like I’ve been waiting for my Uber driver.

I know, the Golden Rule is playing it cool. Go on and live my life instead of sitting in front of the cell and act as if it’s no big deal. But as a guy who’s been in this position way too much, I’ve realized that pretending never works. When you like someone, they could distract you from even the most attention consuming activities.

You’re in class but daydreaming about them. You’re working but they’re the only thing on your mind. Mundane tasks make you want to escape to romanticizing more. Even when you’re partying, you resist your urge to text them. No matter how much you avoid checking your phone, you subconsciously focus on it, anyway.

Not only is this unhealthy, but you might potentially expose your eagerness. You already know this. However, emotions drive you more than logic. On some level, you enjoy the thrilling danger. It certainly…

--

--