When You’re Afraid to Lose the Person You Love, You Lose the Person You Love

You want so badly for a relationship to work, but somehow it blows up. Here’s why — and 4 steps to stop it.

Lee Bidoski
Hello, Love

--

Graffiti on a wall with the words “Why the constant fear” stencilled onto the wall
Photo by Simon Watkinson on Unsplash

I cried during my wedding.

Big, fat, snotty tears.

I never told my ex-husband, but the whole time we were standing up there being married, the words “Don’t f*** this up!” kept looping through my head non-stop.

It became a prayer. “Please God, don’t let me f*** this up.” The tears started dripping because I felt sure that somehow, some way, I was going to f*** this up, especially since I was using the f-word in a prayer.

I believed in that man. I believed in his goodness. I believed I was marrying the right man for all the right reasons, and all I could think of was how scared I was that I would jack it up.

Sure enough, I mucked it up in less than a year.

If we love someone so dang much, and we want so bad to keep them in our lives, how do we screw that up?

How does the fear of losing a relationship cause us to lose the relationship?

You’d think someone who is extra afraid of messing up would be extra careful to not mess it up, but that’s…

--

--

Lee Bidoski
Hello, Love

I’m a psychology professor trying to understand and improve our lives. Relationships | Dating | Health | Careers | Sports | Law Enforcement | Military