Why Dating Has Never Been Better

From one battle-scarred soldier to another…

Carlyn Beccia
Hello, Love
Published in
4 min readJan 28, 2021

--

Leyendecker, J. C. (Joseph Christian), 1874–1951 | Public Domain

There’s a rule about giving dating advice. I call it “The Purple Heart Rule.” It goes like this — You can’t give dating advice to your single friends until you have returned from battle into a happily committed relationship. Only then can you run those poor single slobs through exhaustive drills, dole out your tactical secrets, and polish your war medals…all while binging on endless sex and Netflix.

I hope to someday get to that lofty position. I am not there yet.

I get the frustration from single people. We are now forced to use these newfangled dating apps to meet people. And I use the word “people” lightly. I am sure if you met a man in real life, he wouldn’t walk up to you holding a dead fish. That is not human.

I grow weary too. There are days my blistered thumbs can’t make another right swipe, and my hardened corneas can’t possibly look upon another “Hi Beautiful” message. And I worry my heart might flatline if I meet another cowardly man using dating apps to cheat on his girlfriend or wife.

And still, I solider on…

But I have noticed a few positive dating trends over the last year. Some of these changes are within me. Others have swept me into the shifting cultural landscape. All of…

--

--

Carlyn Beccia
Hello, Love

Award-winning author of 13 books. My latest: 10 AT 10: The Surprising Childhoods of 10 Remarkable People, MONSTROUS: The Lore, Gore, & Science. CarlynBeccia.com