Why Do Men Date Younger Women?

Jillian Richardson
Hello, Love
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2022

--

To every man reading this, if you’ve never dated a woman your own age, why? If you almost always date younger women, why?

Photo via https://unsplash.com/@pabloheimplatz

This week on Instagram, I saw a video where actress Paulina Porizkov said that most men don’t want to date a woman in her 50s or 60s.

Her comments really hit my heart. Recently, I’ve been feeling very connected to the Jillian who is in her 40s and 50s. I think about how, if she is single, most of my male friends of the same age wouldn’t date her. (Context for people who are reading this and don’t know me — I’m in my twenties.)

I shared this in my Instagram stories, along with this commentary:

“To every man reading this, if you’ve never dated a woman your own age, why? If you almost always date younger women, why?

Because here’s my knowing (trigger alert):

Whether you recognize it or not, older men usually date younger women because they have fewer boundaries and expectations. They’re easier to control. And you as a man cannot handle the power of a woman your age.

This is something I have been talking about and reflecting on a lot, but never posted on social media because I want everyone to like me. And this is something that men probably don’t want to hear. But I’m working on being ok with people not liking me so… I

--

--

Jillian Richardson
Hello, Love

I teach people how to have healthier relationships, more love, and better friendships. Coach. Author of Un-Lonely Planet and founder of The Joy List.