Why I Am Afraid of Overly “Nice” People

Overly nice people are a sign of red flags to me.

Daniel St. Joseph
Hello, Love

--

Photo by Michael Dam on Unsplash

It’s the unspoken rule that everybody attempts to be nice, sometimes “overly” nice to please people, to be accepted.

Nobody likes rude people as they make you feel disrespected. It’s not wrong to be nice but the question is “Are they genuinely nice?” or just a facade. Deep inside they might not like you but still pretend to be friendly.

Sometimes the niceness can be taken too far, and when it is, there are plenty of good reasons to be wary of it.

The girl in my biology class

It was my sophomore year in college, I met Nina who was sitting next to me in class. She was friendly with a lovely smile and blue eyes.

I was shy and timid. I was always afraid to say something stupid. She talked to me first, we had a good conversation every time we were in class.

Although we talked quite a lot, we didn’t hang out outside the classroom. I met her sometimes at the cafeteria.

She said hi and we made small talks. Well, she seemed nice to me. For me, I was happy to have her as a friend, but I didn’t know that she only considered me as an acquaintance.

--

--

Daniel St. Joseph
Hello, Love

Dan is passionate about writing to motivate people and share his experience, knowledge to enhance personal development.|BSc Biochemistry|.