You Can’t Fix Him with Your Love and Good Intentions

And why you’ve got to stop trying to.

Crystal Jackson
Hello, Love
Published in
6 min readJun 27, 2024

--

Photo by Drew Hays on Unsplash

I’ve always had a heart for helping. Whether it’s rescuing animals in distress, picking up roadside litter, or showing up for a friend in need, it’s always been important to me to do whatever I can to make the world a better place. That probably sounds foolishly idealistic, but it’s not really. I don’t think I’m single-handedly saving the world, but I also know that the individual has far more power than most of us ever realize.

But when it comes to saving romantic partners, even I have to point out that it’s just not possible. They aren’t a wounded baby chipmunk we can care for and send back into the wild. They aren’t projects. They’re people — and people only change when they want to and are ready for it.

The Essential Components of Change

Notice that there were two parts to that statement: People only change when they want to and are ready for it. A lot of people want to change. It might be a sincere wish. But until they do the work of it, it’s only a wish and not a goal. For true change to occur, there has to be the desire and the willingness to work. One without the other will never be successful.

--

--