Your Partner Had a Crappy Childhood — Is the Relationship Paying the Price?

Partners of those who grew up with tragic parenting are shocked by our capacity for self-loathing.

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

--

Photo credit: iStock

By Amy Eden Jollymore

Here’s what I learned in childhood: Parents can choose to raise us or not. They’re not obligated. My mother dropped me off at her parents’ house “for the weekend” when I was four, and never returned. Two years later my father, not yet the alcoholic he’d become, reclaimed me. The resulting logic is obvious: If the two people tied to me by blood, birth, and obligation could ditch me, then I was someone people left. And like all adult children of adversity and addicts, I grew up hyper-independent yet walking on eggshells in romantic relationships, always waiting for the unpredictable yet inevitable betrayal.

We’re Self-Less

We experienced shame-based parenting and so we have a splintered, dislodged sense of self. Your needs matter more than ours. That’s the code. A deep groove was seared into our cognitive belief system: Be what mom wants or lose her. Be what dad wants or he’ll withdraw his love. Play by the rules of the game called Conditional Love. Be perfect. Don’t make waves, comply, be pliable, be pleasant, and above all, internalize that you’re…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Hello, Love

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com