Why I am Counting the Minutes to Vote

Kathie O'Callaghan
Hello Neighbor Network
3 min readOct 30, 2020

By Zulfar Ahmadi

This is one in a series of OpEds published by Hello Neighbor Network members and their communities. Kathie O’Callaghan, Founder of Hearts & Homes for Refugees, and Zulfar Ahmadi shared these reflections on voting in the upcoming election.

A Note from Kathie O’Callaghan

According to the U.S. Elections Project, as of October 29th more than 80 million Americans had voted early — either by post or in person. This is already more than the total number of early votes cast in the 2016 election.

Just a few days until election day and more than one third of Americans have said “yes” to their right to vote! This is by far the most uplifting piece of news we are hearing these days.

I am honored to share these thoughts from our friend, Zulfar, who fled her country where violence ruled. For Zulfar, voting is a privilege and is high on her list of what it means to be American.

As Congressman John Lewis once said,

“The vote is precious. It is the most powerful non-violent tool we have in a democratic society, and we must use it.”

-Kathie O’Callaghan, Founder & President, Hearts & Homes for Refugees

Zulfar Ahmadi and family

My name is Zulfar Ahmadi.

I was born and raised in Afghanistan. I have been living in the U.S. since 2017 with my family. I would like to share my point of view as an immigrant about voting.

I had to leave my country for many reasons.

It was an insecure and unsafe situation for my family. My husband was working with the U.S. Army for years so we had gotten many death threats from unknown people. Day by day security everywhere in our country got worse. We felt fear every single second.

Fortunately we could apply for a SIV (special immigration visa). We had hopes to build a great future for our children in a safe country without fears of death every minute.

We started a new life in the U.S. with the help of very kind and compassionate American people who welcomed us warmly and opened their homeland doors for us and let us be a part of their community.

As an immigrant who left my homeland, my family close to me, friends, career and everything to get my citizenship, I want to vote for a candidate who can support those millions of refugees and their children who fear for their lives any time there is war in their country and to help them to start a better life in the U.S.

Unfortunately, nowadays life and facilities for refugees are getting worse in the U.S. too. Because of this, I can’t wait to have my citizenship in my hand and have the legal right to vote. Each person can be a part of a huge and effective change in society. Each citizen is responsible for participating in elections so they can smartly elect candidates with a view to benefiting the community.

I count voting as one of my biggest social responsibilities and I believe most refugees from different countries with different war experiences are counting the minutes to get their citizenship and vote.

Kathie O’Callaghan is the Founder of Hearts & Homes for Refugees, a community organization in Westchester County New York that welcomes and advocates for refugees. Hearts & Homes for Refugees leads the Westchester Refugee Initiative, a coalition of more than 40 partners and 2,000 people of goodwill.

Hearts & Homes for Refugees is one of eight founding members of the Hello Neighbor Network representing nonprofit refugee- and immigrant-serving community organizations from across the U.S.

--

--

Kathie O'Callaghan
Hello Neighbor Network

Kathie O’Callaghan is the Founder of Hearts & Homes for Refugees, a community organization in Westchester County, NY that welcomes and advocates for refugees