One of The Reasons We Started HelloCare

Chike Opara
HellocareNG
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2017

As a player in the Nigerian health sector, I found it needful to understand the industry, its peculiarities and challenges. I wanted to understand the policies that were being made and the debates around them. I wanted to understand how the Nigerian health industry played with other sectors such as finance, technology, education etc.

I had grown sick of having my carefully curated lists on Flipboard and Medium full of health discussions from foreign landscapes. I wanted to learn about the National health Insurance Scheme, understand its challenges and participate in discussions around it.

Too many “unrelatable” stories on Medium
Not everytime Obamacare, sometimes NHIS.

There was hardly any good place to satisfy my hunger; I like to think I searched well enough.

Introducing hellocare.ng/blog

We created a little place on the internet called HelloCare where you and everyone else can share ideas and stories relating to health.

It is designed for those stories, research publications and ideas you believe can make a difference and it is easy to use.

… this is a network of thinkers and collaborators in the healthcare space working to create better healthcare for the next generation.

This Native American proverb has my heart.

Yes, we believe that those who tell the stories rule the world and so we have set out to provide a platform for people to tell the story of the health sector from a local perspective.

HelloCare is about everything from how to deal with allergies to how we can make better health policies. We like to say, everyone is welcome and we mean it. We believe in the power of story telling to drive change and alter narratives.

Little wonder when I opened the blog yesterday and I found an article titled Woman rights, human rights by Dr. Adura Oyemola my heart was filled with joy. Like I had struck gold. “This is it”, I said to myself. This is the kind of wonkery I had in mind.

She plans to make the post a series and I believe it will be interesting to follow. I invite you to check it out and participate in the discussion.

P.S: We are currently running a campaign this October for #BreastCancerAwareness with emphasis on #EarlyDetection. Visit. Read. Like. Comment. Share. Join the movement.

--

--

Chike Opara
HellocareNG

I design beautiful software. I write so I can think clearly.